Universal Access To All Knowledge
Home Donate | Store | Blog | FAQ | Jobs | Volunteer Positions | Contact | Bios | Forums | Projects | Terms, Privacy, & Copyright
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
Search Results
Results: 1 through 50 of 183 (0.462 secs)
You searched for: (collection:rustbeltradio OR mediatype:rustbeltradio) AND -mediatype:collection
[1] 2 3 4     Next    Last
[audio]Rustbelt Radio for May 1, 2006 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show... * We'll hear about the denial of financial aid to students that have drug convictions * a detailed account of the situation in Darfur and the Sudan * a report from today's immigrants rights protests * and also a special May Day feature.
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio
Downloads: 930 1.00 out of 5 stars(2 reviews)
[audio]Rustbelt Radio for October 22, 2007 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show... * We bring you a special lecture on "Earth Democracy" from author, activist, and environmentalist Vandana Shiva
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio; Vandana Shiva; Earth Democracy; environment; democracy; India; rice; biotechnology; Monsanto
Downloads: 614 4.00 out of 5 stars4.00 out of 5 stars4.00 out of 5 stars4.00 out of 5 stars(1 review)
[audio]The Best of Rustbelt Radio Fall 2006 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
Welcome to the Best of Rustbelt Radio, the Pittsburgh Independent Media Center's weekly review of news from the grassroots; news overlooked by the corporate media. This week, we will be presenting highlights of Rustbelt Radio stories from the Fall of 2006 including... * A Proposed Casino for the Hill District faces opposition * the legal struggle over Hazleton, Pennsylvania's trendsetting anti-immigrant legislation * Veterans of the war in Iraq visit Pittsburgh on the Uprise Counter Recruitment ...
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio; Pittsburgh; casinos; Hazelton; immigration; Iraq; veterans; affirmative action; Oaxaca; GLBTQ
Downloads: 2,031 1.00 out of 5 stars(1 review)
[audio]Rustbelt Radio for November 26, 2007 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show... * We bring you a history lesson on the recent North American Thanksgiving holiday, featuring the voices of indigenous people, their thoughts on the recognition of Thanksgiving, and an alternative celebration known as the National Day of Mourning
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio; Thanksgiving; Day of Mourning; indigenous peoples; Native Americans; American Indians; Plymouth; colonialism; American History
Downloads: 146
[audio]Rustbelt Radio October 31, 2005 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show... * We talk to Sal Wilcox of Education Innovations about urban farms and charter schools * We have an update from Mohammad of Beirut Indymedia about the situation in Lebanon and Syria * and Pittsburghers react to the 2000th American soldier death in Iraq, but first, these local headlines.
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio
Downloads: 66
[audio]Rustbelt Radio for April 21, 2008 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show... * Family Members accuse Pennsylvania Prisons of abusing inmates * A look at tax fairness and wealth in American families * Uprising Radio examines the World Bank's perpetuation of Global Warming * and Burger King allegedly spies on members of the Student Farmworker Alliance
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio; Pennsylvania; prisons; taxes; World Bank; global warming; climate change; Burger King; Student-Farmworker Alliance
Downloads: 7
[audio]Rustbelt Radio June 13, 2005 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On today's show... * We speak with the local group 'RESYST' about the upcoming pridefest and the radical queer movement * And we present the final piece in our three part series on Coal and its effects in the community. We will hear from organizers who are fighting to promote clean energy and what the possibilities are for sustainable alternative energy sources in the United States .... but first, these local headlines.
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio
Downloads: 145
[audio]Rustbelt Radio for January 29, 2007 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show... * Lawyers and Black Panthers discuss the recent arrests of former Black Panthers in a thirty-six year-old murder case * from the World Social Forum, a Kenyan grassroots activist describes the connection between the HIV/Aids Pandemic and gender inequality * in global news, an Armenian journalist and activist was murdered in Turkey, and federal agents began a new wave of raids against immigrants last week * the word on the street about President Bush's State of the Union Add...
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio; Pittsburgh; Beaver County; prison; protest; war; Bush; state of the union; labor; critical mass; immigration; Hrant Dink; Panther Ten; Black Panthers; World Social Forum
Downloads: 176
[audio]Rustbelt Radio for March 27, 2006 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show... * We will hear exerpts of a Carnegie Mellon Robotics Institue debate about the ethics of accepting military funding. * We will hear about the case of Hasan Shakur a death row inmate in Texas * a report from International Women's Day in Mexico by Rustbelt Radio's Carlin Christy * plus spy-ins, sick-outs, IRS audits for friends of Santorum, our regular update on police brutality and misconduct in the region, and more headlines from independent media centers around the world.
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio
Downloads: 291
[audio]Rustbelt Radio for October 16, 2006 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show... * the Uprise Counter Recruitment Tour makes a stop in Pittsburgh * Amy Goodman speaks in Pittsburgh on her Breaking the Sound Barrier tour * three weeks after Pamela Lawton and her 7 year old daughter were stopped and threatened with guns by Pittsburgh police officers, now she's being charged with disorderly conduct * and more on Chiapas, the student-farmworker alliance, freedom of information, and civil disobedience by deaf students, in our global headlines
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio; Military Recruiting; Amy Goodman; Democracy Now!; police; chiapas; Pamela Lawton
Downloads: 96
[audio]Rustbelt Radio for October 1, 2007 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show... * Students take to the street in Pittsburgh for the national walk-out in support of the Jena 6 * A discussion on the role of Latinos in the new Ken Burns documentary, "The War" * Pittsburgh's local Peace & Justice Center faces financial difficulties * Costa Ricans get ready for a referendum vote on CAFTA * and more in our local and global headlines
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio; Pittsburgh; Jena 6; Jena; The War; Ken Burns; latinos; Merton Center; CAFTA; DR-CAFTA; Burma
Downloads: 88
[audio]Rustbelt Radio for December 3, 2007 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show... * In honor of World Aids Day, we bring you a report on the new face of AIDS and the challenges faced by infected individuals * Independent Journalist Ben Dangl speaks about the Constituent Assembly and recent clashes in Bolivia * An update on the "Middle East Peace Conference" in Annapolis * Nurses are striking in West Virginia, plus more in our local and global headlines * and more in our local and global headlines
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio; World AIDS Day; AIDS; Bolivia; Ben Dangl; Annapolis; Israel; Palestine; West Virginia; Pittsburgh; warbler; environment; nurses; strike; labor; Appalachian Regional Healthcare
Downloads: 55
[audio]Rustbelt Radio for July 31, 2006 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show... * We learn about the evil practices of Bechtel corporation, a war profiteer with a local operation here in Pittsburgh * The first officer to refuse deployment to Iraq speaks out * SouthSide Works janitors are demanding better working conditions * A University Radio Station in Oaxaca, Mexico is under attack * and also our local and global headlines
Downloads: 49
[audio]Rustbelt Radio January 30, 2006 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show... * We'll speak to two activists who are fighting CAFTA, the Central American Free Trade Agreement, which is being pushed by the Bush administration * We'll hear how privatization, globalization, and the "networking" of security agencies are complicating the fight against secrecy * Pittsburgh Mayor Bob O'Connor describes his plans to emulate former New York City mayor Rudy Guiliani * news from local campaigns Save Our Transit and Pittsburgh Anti-Sweatshop Community Alliance ...
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio
Downloads: 145
[audio]Rustbelt Radio September 19, 2005 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show... * A look at Grow Pittsburgh, a group of local urban farmers who are growing more than just food in the city. * We'll hear more voices from flood survivors in New Orleans * and Australia has deported an American peace activist calling him a threat to national security
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio
Downloads: 181
[audio]Rustbelt Radio July 11, 2005 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On today's show... * Weed and Seed, a federally funded law enforcement and community redevelopment program may cut the Garfield program's budget. We will hear from representatvies of Weed and Seed and Garfield Residents * Part Two of an interview with Just Health Care, a community group working to bring about universal health care coverage in Pennsylvania. * and we'll hear reactions to last week's bombings in London; from Londerers on the street on the morning of the attacks, as well as from Fox...
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio
Downloads: 69
[audio]Rustbelt Radio for October 30, 2006 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show... * in Oaxaca, Mexico, police and paramilitaries responded to the months-long popular uprising with armed attacks, killing several people including an indymedia videographer and a local newspaper photographer * Kenyan Nobel Peace Prize winner Wangari Maathai speaks at the University of Pittsburgh * locals with the Student Farmworker Alliance hold a demonstration at the McDonalds in Oakland * and more global news from Uruguay, Portugal, Ecuador, and more
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio; Oaxaca; Brad Will; murder; assassination; Mexico; Kenya; Wangari Maathai; McDonalds; abortion; Portugal; Emergency; Afghanistan; Ecuador; Uruguay; Pittsburgh; indymedia
Downloads: 122
[audio]Rustbelt Radio September 26, 2005 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show we'll hear from Sankofa Community Empowement about their Saturday School and We'll go to a Guatemalan village, where the Women's Self-Reliance Program is using intensive gardening to promoting economic independence, environmental sustainability, and stronger community and an update on police misconduct and taser use from Ron Anicich
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio
Downloads: 54
[audio]Rustbelt Radio January 16, 2006 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show: * local lawyer Dan Kovalik speaks about US military aid to Colombia and human rights violations against trade unionists * we'll hear from Pennsylvania state representatives about the impacts of the Iraq war on two districts in Pittsburgh * local news reports on treatment of the city's homeless, students' voting rights, and nurses' organizing for affordable health care * global news reports on critical mass, journalists' rights, pirate and low power radio, GE crops, and the s...
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio; Dan Kovalik; Colombia; unions; Pennsylvania; Pittsburgh; Iraq; war; homeless; critical mass; LPFM; radio; Rwanda
Downloads: 808
[audio]Rustbelt Radio January 14, 2007 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show... * Pittsburgh activists gather over the weekend to share organizing skills * Violence is brewing in Chiapas's ongoing low-intensity war * Dissident Israeli professor Neve Gordon discusses Academic Freedom at American Universities * Hundreds of People ride bikes in NYC to honor fallen cyclists and Pedestrians * Activists resist a Grand Jury against Puerto Rican Cultural and Social Workers in NYC * and more in our local and global headlines
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio; Pittsburgh; skillshare; Chiapas; Mexico; Israel; academic freedom; Neve Gordon; Norman Finkelstein; New York City; bicycles; bikes
Downloads: 63
[audio]Rustbelt Radio for October 29, 2007 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show... * As fires sweep across Southern California, undocumented immigrants fear deportation * Protesters gather in DC to oppose the World Bank & IMF * Dr. Herb Needleman speaks about his research linking lead poisoning and violence * Racial threats continue in the city as another noose is found at a workplace in Pittsburgh * Desmond Tutu visits Pittsburgh - and SCI Greene * and more in our local and global headlines
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio; lead poisoning; Herb Needleman; IMF; World Bank; International Monetary Fund; Pittsburgh; racism; Desmond Tutu; Mumia Abu-Jamal; fires; San Diego
Downloads: 59
[audio]Rustbelt Radio November 5, 2005 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On today's show... * Fighting for fair food in Pittsburgh and across the country,an update on the Student Farmworker Alliance KingDOOM days of action against Burger King * results from the recent Guatemalan presidential election * Media activists, community radio operators and government representatives discuss the benefits of Low Power FM Radio * an interview from "Mother Jones: The Most Dangerous Woman in America" * and more in our local and global headlines
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio; Mother Jones; LPFM; radio; Low Power FM; Pittsburgh; Mike Doyle; Guatemala; Student-Farmworker Alliance; food
Downloads: 105
[audio]Rustbelt Radio for October 8, 2007 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show... * A new bill may protect Pennsylvanians from discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity and expression * Updates on protests and state violence in Burma * A history of American diplomacy with Iran * Views on this year's Columbus Day, in Pittsburgh and in Denver * plus more in our local and global headlines
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio; Pennsylvania; Pittsburgh; ENDA; PA House Bill 1400; discrimination; gay rights; transgender; employment discrimination; Burma; protest; Iran; US-Iran relations; Columbus Day; Word on the Street; Luke Ravenstahl
Downloads: 72
[audio]Rustbelt Radio November 28, 2005 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show... * We speak to an organizer with the South Central Los Angeles Farmers who are fighting the destruction of their urban farm * We hear from Johanna Fernandez's lecture about the Young Lords Party and Late Sixties Radicalism * and Code Pink protests the war outside Kaufmann's on the day after Thanksgiving * and workers at Starbucks are struggling against the company to unionize with the IWW * plus our local and global headlines
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio
Downloads: 63
[audio]Rustbelt Radio for September 10, 2007 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show... * Two stories of victory - locally, prisoners boycott poisonous food. And in national news, Baltimore stadium cleaners will receive a living wage. * Pro-democracy protests continue in Burma, as monks hold authorities hostage following police and paramilitary brutality * Professor Norman Finkelstein speaks about the Misuse of Anti-Semitism and the Abuse of History and Academic Freedom * Pittsburgh shows support for the Jena Six * and more in our local and global headlines
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio; Pittsburgh; prisoners; Pennsylvania; war; Iraq; protest; recruiters; Jena; racism; labor; strike; Pittsburgh Public Schools; schools; Norman Finkelstein
Downloads: 87
[audio]Rustbelt Radio July 18, 2005 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
# An interview with the site coordinator for National Student Partnership's Pittsburgh Office # as Car Free Day approaches, and builds support from the Pittsburgh City Council, we'll hear from last month's conference organized by Car Free Pittsburgh
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio
Downloads: 181
[audio]Rustbelt Radio for June 25, 2007 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show... * From the Allied Media Conference in Detroit, Aishah Shahidah Simmons, speaks about her experience making No!, a documentary about Black women and rape * SEIU protests on behalf of local janitors * Bicyclists, along with Mayor Luke Ravenstahl and local cyling advocacy organization Bike-Pittsburgh celebrate Pittsburgh's second-ever bike lane * and an update on the cases of the 8 former Black Panther Party members on trial in San Francisco for the 1971 murder of a police of...
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio; Allied Media Conference; AMC; AMC2007; Detroit; Pittsburgh; bike lanes; bicycles; rape; black women; ACT-UP
Downloads: 109
[audio]Rustbelt Radio for March 5, 2007 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show... * Sylvia Rivera Cusicanqui discusses Anarchism in Bolivia, medicinal benefits of Coca and present day social justice struggles. * Gitanjali Gutierrez, lead counsel representing Guantanamo detainees, speaks on torture, legal activism, and the movement to shut down Guantanamo Bay prison. * 14 people are arrested in a large civil disobedience action against warfare robotics in Pittsburgh * plus more in our local and global headlines
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio; Bolivia; Anarchism; Guantanamo; Pittsburgh; robotics; NREC; protest; lockdown; CMU; public transit; tutoring; whales; whaling; FCC; media
Downloads: 133
[audio]Rustbelt Radio September 5, 2005 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show, a labor day edition of Rustbelt Radio... * the Industrial Workers of the World celebrate their centennial conference in Chicago * Boilermakers Local 44 who work for the Celanese Corporation in Meredosia, Illinois are locked out, and we'll hear from the union president * and we'll hear from African American critics of the government actions, and inaction, in New Orleans after Hurricane Katrina, leading to the deaths of hundreds, maybe thousands
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio
Downloads: 80
[audio]Rustbelt Radio for June 4, 2007 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show... * we'll hear about Fossil Free Fuels, and how they are improving the city's air quality one car at a time * at a Town Hall meeting, Pittsburgh speaks up about the impact of the Iraq war here at home, and elected officals listen * Stop the Bus cuts keeps attention up and the pressure on as Port Authority cuts draw near * resistance to the upcoming G-8 summit in Germany * and more in our local and global headlines
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio; environment; fuel; vegetable oil; biodiesel; Fossil Free Fuels; Pittsburgh; war; Iraq; transit; PAT; G8; G-8; Zoellick; World Bank
Downloads: 110
[audio]Rustbelt Radio for March 6, 2006 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show... * last month Pennsylvania prisoner-rights activists converged on Harrisburg to protest abusive prison conditions at home * we'll hear from the Somalia Organisation for Community Development Activities on the growing social movements that are demanding an end to conflict there * and last week the BBC obtained an rare interview with a Guantanamo Bay detainee, and we'll hear about his experience in the Guantanamo Bay Prison
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio
Downloads: 66
[audio]Rustbelt Radio September 12, 2005 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show... * Pittsburgh residents concerned with low income peoples' access to healh care gathered at the Allegheny Unitarian Universalist Church on the North Side, we'll have a report * We will speak with Sabira Bushra of The Partnership for Minority HIV/AIDS Prevention about the film AIDS Warriors * The Bring the Troops Home Now tour, including Cindy Sheehan, was in Pittsburgh over the weekend, and Rustbelt Radio was there * and we're have more independent reports from the tragedy ...
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio
Downloads: 220
[audio]Rustbelt Radio for July 30, 2007 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show... * locals celebrate the passage of the Americans with Disabilities Act * The US Farm Bill is set to be renewed for the 1st time in 5 years and could have dire consequences for farmers across the globe * Condom commercials are banned in Pittsburgh * Voices and music from the benefit show "How to Free a Political Prisoner" held in Pittsburgh this past week * plus more in our local and global headlines
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio; Hazleton; murals; art; immigration; ADA; Americans with Disabilities Act; farms; subsidies; US Farm Bill; condom commercials; Mumia Abu-Jamal; Pittsburgh; Florida; death penalty; lethal injection
Downloads: 55
[audio]Rustbelt Radio for October 15, 2007 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show... * Counter Recruitment strategies from a former soldier and a community activist * New Voices Pittsburgh's Reproductive Justice Weekend * A Judge's ruling puts a controversial immigration enforcement tactic on hold * Multiple incidents of racial intimidation are reported in Pittsburgh * and more in our local and global headlines
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio; military recruiting; counter-recruitment; reproductive justice; immigration; no-match; racism; Pittsburgh; West Virginia
Downloads: 59
[audio]Rustbelt Radio for September 17, 2007 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show... * "The Revolution Will Not Be Funded"-- an in depth interview with social justice activists about organizing work in non-profits * updates on the political climates in Guatemala and Haiti * Pittsburghers march against war this past weekend * plus more in our local and global headlines.
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio; non-profits; Guatemala; tasers; war; Iraq; protest; Pittsburgh; Haiti
Downloads: 48
[audio]Rustbelt Radio December 5, 2005 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show... * We discuss the 1000th execution carried out in the United States this past week * We review issues facing the Pittsburgh Public Schools and the Superintendent's proposed right-sizing plan * we learn about the current scandal in the Allegheny County Sheriff's Office * and our local and global headlines
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio
Downloads: 91
[audio]Rustbelt Radio August 1, 2005 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On today's show... * locals rallied in downtown Pittsburgh to honor 15th aniversary of the passage of the Americans with Disabilities Act * SEIU picketed the USX tower last week in support of striking janitors in Houston Texas * from Bad Cop No Donut, news of a death at the hands of taser-wielding police officers in Ohio * our featured local group is the Mon-Valley Unemployed Committee, which has been advocating for unemployed workers in our area for over 20 years * and we'll hear about Water Pr...
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio
Downloads: 209
[audio]Rustbelt Radio for May 21, 2007 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show... * locals react to the Federal Appeals Court hearing in Philadelphia for Mumia Abu-Jamal * Earth First activists in Southern Indiana challenge the new NAFTA Superhighway in their region * Author and ecologist Sandra Steingraber speaks about the connections between environmental and human health * the Coalition of Immokalee Workers wins another battle for farmworkers * and more in our local and global headlines
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio; environment; health; child development; I-69; NAFTA Superhighway; Indiana; Earth First!; Shropshire Music Foundation; health care; Mumia Abu-Jamal; police; Philadelphia; Pittsburgh
Downloads: 66
[audio]Rustbelt Radio for March 26, 2007 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show... * Over 1000 people march in Pittsburgh to demand "Education not Occupation, Healthcare not Warfare, Buses not Bombs," and "Bring the Troops Home Now." * United Steelworkers' Lawyer Dan Kovalik speaks about the connections between the Chiquita Fruit Company, Drummond Mining, Paramilitaries and Human Rights Abuses in Colombia * New anti-immigration legislation is introduced into the Pennsylvania house * a court decision in Arizona sets a precedent for Native americans' right...
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio; Pittsburgh; anti-war; protest; Dan Kovalik; steelworkers; Colombia; Chiquita; Drummond; paramilitaries; human rights; Arizona; immigrants; Pennsylvania; power lines
Downloads: 122
[audio]Rustbelt Radio for March 19, 2007 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
03/20/2007 On this week's show... * immigrant workers on the gulf coast are speaking up about slavery-like working conditions * a sit-in by residents upset about a coal silo in their town occupied the office of the governor of West Virginia * and we'll be marking the 4th anniversary of the war in Iraq, with reports from protests in Washington DC and from the National Conference on Organized Resistance * and more in our local and global headlines
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio; immigrant workers; war; Iraq; coal; West Virginia; Hazleton; NCOR
Downloads: 82
[audio]Rustbelt Radio for April 17, 2006 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show... * An interview with La'Tasha Mayes, a local reproductive justice activist with the Sistersong Collective * We'll hear about the "Catch an Illegal Immigrant" game hosted by Penn State University's College Republicans * Native Americans say "People not Mascots" in Cleveland * underdog Democrat wins local election * Anti-LGBT legislation in California targets students * Reports from "This week in Palestine" and "Bad Cop, No Donut" * our local and global headlines
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio
Downloads: 243
[audio]Rustbelt Radio April 25, 2005 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On today's show... This week's local grassroots organization, the Fight for Lifers, will speak about their efforts to advocate for prisoners serving life sentences. We will hear from last Monday's Pittsburgh Public School Board meeting, as concerned parents spoke out about military recruiting at schools, unhealthy school meals and other issues impacting students. And Sunday was the 90th anniversary of the start of the genocide of 1.5 million Armenians by the Ottoman empire...
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio
Downloads: 55
[audio]Rustbelt Radio for January 15, 2007 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On today's show... * an interview with two independent journalists who documented the 34 day war in Lebanon last summer and its aftermath. * thousands take to the street in a march against violence in New Orleans * Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. speaks on collective struggle, the war in Vietnam, revolutionary movements around the world, and more. * two local groups claim victory in their campaigns * and more in our local and global headlines
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio; Pittsburgh; New Orleans; Lebanon; MLK; Dr. Martin Luther King Jr; Voices for Animals; environment; Philippines; war; recruiting; Samidoun; Miami; Umoja Village
Downloads: 170
[audio]Rustbelt Radio April 4, 2005 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On today's show... We speak with the birth circle, a community group that works with child bearing families We will hear about the life of young men in a palestinian refugee camp
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio
Downloads: 86
[audio]Rustbelt Radio June 27, 2005 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
* A bill currently in Harrisburg could raise the minimum wage across the state of Pennsylvania to seven dollars and fifteen cents. * We talk with representatives of the Pittsburgh-based Just Health Care Campaign * the BioDemocracy conference in Philadelphia met in opposition to the Biotechnology Industry Orgranization's meetings; Rustbelt has a report. * and we hear from Iraqi Labor Leaders on their speaking tour stop last week in Pittsburgh
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio
Downloads: 73
[audio]The Best of Rustbelt Radio, Summer 2007 (Rustbelt Radio for September 3, 2007) - Pittsburgh Indymedia
This week, we will be presenting highlights of Rustbelt Radio stories from the Summer of 2007 including... * Pittsburgh's nomination as America's most livable city * Updates on the South Central Los Angeles Farm * A report from the activists and Media Makers at the 9th annual Allied Media Conference * How To Free a Political Prisoner -- a local benefit for Mumia * Let's Talk About Sex-- interviews and highlights from the 10th annual Sistersong conference * and more highlights from the past few m...
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio; Allied Media Conference; AMC; AMC2007; Detroit; Pittsburgh; Los Angeles; South Central Farm; urban farming; Mumia; Mumia Abu-Jamal; Sistersong; sex
Downloads: 156
[audio]Rustbelt Radio August 8, 2005 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show... * We will speak to Grady McFarlane, a former employee of the Lemington Center about the recent closure and the history of the Center * We hear from members of the local group Food Not Bombs, who have been serving free vegetarian food to Pittsburgh's homeless for over 10 years * they City of Pittsburgh is considering a new law to crack down on panhandling -- we'll hear from local homeless about their view of the law * this past Saturday young and old gathered in Oakland to ...
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio
Downloads: 133
[audio]Rustbelt Radio for July 17, 2006 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show * We hear Deepa Fernandes of WBAI in New York, speak about reporting on immigration and border security issues * The Pittsburgh Anti Sweatshop Community Alliance says " No sweatshops bucco!" during the 2006 All Star game * Environmental Activists are arrested in Canada * The Mexican presidential election turmoil continues * plus more local and global headlines
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio; immigration; sweatshops; baseball; all-star game; mexico; canada; environmentalism; sprawl; homeless; DHS; Deepa Fernandes; Iraq; Labor; Unions; NLRB
Downloads: 115
[audio]Rustbelt Radio for February 5, 2007 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show... * We explore Fair Trade goods and their implications for farmers in developing countries * We examine a new government proposal to remove the grey wolf from the endangered species list. * A state of emergency is declared in Somalia following the US-backed Ethiopian invasion last month. * local activists submit a request to re-open the cases of Jerry Jackson and Charles Dixon...
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio; Fair Trade; Pittsburgh; police; Jerry Jackson; Charles Dixon; Somalia; wolves; endangered species; environment
Downloads: 102
[audio]Rustbelt Radio for May 15, 2006 - Pittsburgh Indymedia
On this week's show... * We investigate the issues surrounding a new waste coal power plant proposed for Robinson Township, Washington county * we'll hear about the importance of lower power FM radio and the fight for community media, from a recent discussion held in Pittsburgh with Hannah Sassaman of the Prometheus Radio Project * we have the return of our segment which spotlights a local grassroots group, The Light at the End of the Fort Pitt Tunnel...
Keywords: Rustbelt Radio
Downloads: 155
[1] 2 3 4     Next    Last
Advanced search

Group results by:

> Relevance
Mediatype
Collection

Related collections

rustbeltradio
audio_news

Related creators

Pittsburgh Indymedia

Related mediatypes

audio